Finally FAMOUS

I survived my first week at FAMOUS. I’d like to clarify, that’s FAMOUS Magazine, Australia.

Let me start from the beginning. The reason I’m currently residing in Sydney is to further my career opportunities and gather as much work experience in my field (Journalism and PR) as possible. FAMOUS Magazine was generous enough to offer me an internship with their editorial and fashion team based right here in Redfern, Sydney.

My first week was absolutely incredible, and has left me excited to see what the next week has in store. I feel like I’ve been exposed to so many different worlds already, by simply performing standard intern tasks to help out the team. I’ve had some great work experiences so far, from mailing out magazines to large media clients, receiving and sending clothing samples to some of Australia’s elite fashion PR companies, and practicing my celebrity journalism writing.

Admittedly, it almost felt like I had wandered onto the set of The Devil Wears Prada (minus the Devil). The FAMOUS team are super stylish and sophisticated, everything I anticipated on my arrival, and equally amazingly friendly and welcoming – I am yet to have a coat thrown at my face. There is a lot of fashion and celebrity journalism terminology I’m still learning, but I’m happy I haven’t made my first ‘what’s the difference between these two “identical” belts’ mistake yet…

Channelling my inner Anne Hathaway, I’m trying my best to prove to my co-workers this small town girl has the potential to make it in the big leagues.

FAMOUS Magazine’s Editorial Coordinator, Hannah Gay, was my first point of contact entering the FAMOUS world, has been extremely supportive and friendly, and is just a lovely girl in general. Hannah started as an intern herself, which gives me motivation and self reassurance that I’m creating the right pathway for myself.

Cara Messina, Fashion and Beauty Assistant at FAMOUS, has been my mentor and friend during my first week, and I have loved working with and learning from her. Grab a copy of the latest FAMOUS Magazine to check out some of her fantastic work!

And just for laughs, here is one of my favourite The Office’s Steve Carell meets Devil Wears Prada moments… get me Armani.

Leave a Reply

