Dancing on a dream

Last Sunday 7th December was the SJ Dance Studio opening day.

Samantha Howcroft, the 20-year-old studio owner, is branching out on her own with this amazing business adventure. It has been her dream since she was a little girl, and after a lifetime of choreographing and teaching friends dance routines, she finally gets to turn her dreams into reality.

“It’s funny because I remember drawing up my dream studio and showing my family and friends what I was going to do when I was older,” Samantha said.

“I love teaching and sharing my love for dance with others, seeing students that I have taught, grow into such talented and beautiful dancers makes what I do all worth while, I honestly believe I have the best job in the world. I’ve always wanted to have my own studio and run it my way. ”

After working and training in the biggest dance schools in Queensland and Melbourne, Samantha knows exactly how she wants her studio to run.

“From day one I wanted my studio to have  a modern, open and motivating atmosphere so that my students feel inspired to come train and learn how to dance,” Samantha said.

“I always asked myself why are most dance schools in warehouses and sheds? I didn’t want that, when I found this space and saw that it actually looked over the water and had a beautiful view I knew it was perfect. Birtinya is growing more and more everyday, with home central being just across the road and Kawana school only 2 minutes away I didn’t want to look anywhere else.”

10847048_10202311924958551_1118853895_n

One of Samantha’s closest friends (and dance partners) Jodie Holcombe, is also part of the SJ Dance Studio Team, and will be one of the main teachers working alongside Samantha.

The dancing duo met at the age of 16, both studying their diplomas of dance together in 2011. Their friendship was formed on a dancing dream, and now they will be making waves on the Sunshine Coast, bringing attention to the dancing culture they are so passionate about.

“I knew the opening day would be a success,” said Jodie,

“What Sam has created is something different to any other dance studio on the coast.”

With an amazing support system of friends, family, and loved ones, Samantha’s open day was a big success with a lot of interest regarding holiday workshops and classes for 2015.

“The amount of feedback we have had since opening day is incredible,” Samantha said.

“It feels so good to know that people believe in what I’m trying to create, my SJ Team also did so well, it was a fun and successful day.”

For more information regarding the SJ Dance Studio, please contact Samantha Howcroft here. It was incredible to be part of the opening day experience, and I can’t wait to see this amazing studio and dance team grow and add to the Sunshine Coasts’ arts and entertainment culture.

10850384_10202311921998477_1517318889_n10850643_10202311924878549_1408616366_n10859755_10202311924838548_1581002484_n10846837_10202311925118555_878788389_n

Leave a Reply

