Australian Outback Steakhouse… In Buffalo?

Well America you’ve outdone yourself this time – an Australian themed Outback Steakhouse right in the heart of Buffalo. My RD Eric, RA’s Dan, Jake, and Nat, along with Brittany and Kelly embarked on an outback adventure to see if this steakhouse really lived up to it’s implied Australian authenticity.

As a slightly more bias judge, I can safely say it did not. It was another example of how America takes a specific cuisine such as Indian, Chinese, or Italian, and then ‘Americanises’ it with it’s own twist. However, despite referring to prawns as ‘shrimp’, only offering ‘Fosters’ as the leading Australian beer, the food and service was amazing quality. I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the steakhouse, and the Australian interior and decor made me feel right at home (if I had boomerangs, the national flag, and didgeridoos hanging on my walls at home).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_1814

This picture above is of a ‘Blooming Onion’, which apparently originated in Australia yet I have never heard of it! It’s onion fried in bread crumbs, and Australian or not, it was delicious!

Once again my RD and RA’s at Hendrix Hall have gone out of their way to ensure my study abroad experience has been nothing short of amazing and memorable, and certainly appreciate all their efforts and friendship! I hope you guys plan on visiting Australia so I may return the kindness you have shown me!

4 thoughts on “Australian Outback Steakhouse… In Buffalo?

    • They can be a bit cringeworthy at times! The decor was over the top, but the food itself was amazing quality!
      Thank you so much, it’s nearly at it’s end but it has been the most life changing experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

