Candy Bar Countdown – Part 2

After giving my stomach a rest from all the candy bars, and a few sit ups later, I embarked on part 2 of the All American Candy Bar Challenge. This time it was really difficult to pick a winner, and I also tried a lot of candy bars I had never tasted or heard of before! I didn’t have to spit any out this time either, so that’s always a good sign. Like round 1, this challenge was too dangerous to face alone! I had the trusted help of my two RA’s, Nat and Jake, to eat our way through this mountain of candy. 

Let me know if you think I chose the most deserving winning chocolate bar…

1. Butterfingers vs Reese’s Sticks 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe first chocolates we tasted were Butterfingers vs Reese’s Sticks. I had never tried either of these candy bars, but I had an idea of how the Reese’s Sticks would taste. If a KitKat bar and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups had a baby, that is what it would look and taste like. I didn’t enjoy it that much, the peanut butter was overwhelming and the chocolate was kind of bland. Jake said that he would rather just eat a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup. The Butterfingers was not what I was expecting! Since it has the word ‘butter’ in it, I pictured something smooth and creamy, and Nat warned me this was not the case, and it would actually get stuck in my teeth. It was a light chocolate, but very sticky and chewy. Both of these candy bars really let me down today.

2. 3 Musketeers vs Twix vs Crunch 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThis round is a triple punch! Twix and Crunch I’m familiar with, and they’re actually two of my favourites, but I had never tried 3 Musketeers before. Nat and Jake informed me that it was a really light chocolate bar, due to the whipped texture inside. I thought it was so delicious to the point where I didn’t really want to eat any of the other candy bars, and just settle down and commit to this one chocolate bar. For Australian’s back home, the 3 Musketeers was pretty similar to a Milky Way bar without the caramel inside. The Twix was also amazing, basically exactly how they taste back home, it was very light as well. Jake’s favourite was the Crunch bar, it tasted exactly like the Australian version, although it was slightly thinner and less rich which was good. This round was very close, and we still had three more chocolates to taste!

3. Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme vs Dove vs Hershey’s Original 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI was pretty excited about this round, it was time to try America’s famous Hershey’s chocolate, which like Reese’s isn’t sold commonly in Australia. The Cookies ‘n’ Creme bar was delicious! It was thin, but very sweet and had perfect texture. Nat thought it was a bit too sweet, but I was in love. The original Hershey’s bar was a big let down. I thought it was extremely bitter in taste, and left a really bad after taste in my mouth! Nat said original Hershey’s bars are used for making smores, which we don’t have in Australia. It’s a marshmallow with a bit of Hershey’s on top, and then sandwiched between two gram crackers (no idea what they are!), and then you toast them over a fire like roasting marshmallows. As usual, America just takes it to the next level! It sounds amazing and hopefully I get to try it before I leave. The Dove chocolate bar tasted like our Dove chocolate back home, it was very rich and smooth, which makes it difficult to finish. Nat agreed with me that it tasted a lot nicer than the original Hershey’s bar.

After consuming all this chocolate it was time to decide on a winner. Jake favoured the Crunch, Nat was team Dove, and I was trying to chose between Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme or 3 Musketeers. It was definitely very close, but 3 Musketeers just won me over with it’s perfect balance of lightness and chocolatey taste. It was definitely the underdog going into this competition, but when I asked myself which chocolate bar would I actually buy again, it was a clear win.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetGive me a few days to recover after Easter, and then I’ll update you on part 3 of the All American Candy Bar Challenge!

 

 

One thought on “Candy Bar Countdown – Part 2

  1. Oh yesssss, 3 musketeers was my absolute favourite when I lived there! Also, smores. YES. You need to do it! We had the Kiwi version of them allll the time here but everything just tastes better in America ;] Haha

Leave a Reply

