Candy Bar Countdown

I’ve challenged myself to an extreme taste testing of American candy bars (chocolate bars). My college offers a large variety of assorted chocolates and brands, and $30 USD later I selected 24 appealing looking ones to try!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetAlthough I consider myself an expert in the chocolate field, I can’t eat 24 chocolates all by myself! I’ll pace the challenge over three separate blog posts, so my body doesn’t shut down from a candy overdose.

The candy bars I selected to try today are Peanut MnM’s, Peanut Butter MnM’s, Reese’s Pieces, KitKat, Reese’s Cups, PayDay, and Snickers. I didn’t go at this taste testing alone, I had help from my RD Eric and RA Dan to ensure no chocolate was wasted in this challenge.

1. M&M’s vs Reese’s Pieces 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe Peanut M&Ms are significantly different to the actual Peanut Butter M&M’s, in size and texture, however the taste is fairly similar. They also taste quite similar to the Australian version as well. The Reese’s Pieces taste exactly like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup but in M&M form, and their shell is a lot softer than the M&M brand. I definitely prefer the Peanut MnM’s the best out of the three!

2. Pay Day vs Snickers

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe Snickers bar was delicious, both a favourite for myself and Dan! It tasted exactly like an Australian Snickers bar as well, a personal favourite chocolate bar I’m particularly familiar with. The PayDay I had never heard of before, so I was very interested to try it.

PayDay chocAfter opening the wrapping on the Pay Day candy bar I was less inclined to try it… there was no chocolate coating! Dan described it as ‘a salted peanut in candy bar form’. It was definitely trying to deceive us all, and it tasted so horrible I had to spit it out! It was far too salty to be taken seriously as a confectionary item. Eric on the other hand loved it, and finished it off for me!

3. Kit Kat vs Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetTwo of my favourite chocolates, the classic KitKat bar and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. KitKat is extremely popular in Australia and can be purchased basically in any convenience store or supermarket, whereas Reese’s are considered as a ‘speciality American chocolate’ so can only be purchased in special candy stores. The Reese’s Cups are my most favourite chocolate, so this battle was already won before any tasting was involved. The Reese’s Cups tasted exactly like they would in Australia, if anything probably more rich in flavour. The KitKat tasted different though, it was more bitter and almost ‘chalky’ in texture.

So 7 candy bars later, feeling like Augustus Gloop, I’ve decided the winner for this round in the candy bar challenge would have to be the M&M’s. In Australia, I’d volunteer as tribute any day to get my hands on a packet of Reese’s Cups, however the Peanut and Peanut Butter M&M’s are equally as delicious in taste! Winning points were allocated for being less dense and rich to consume, which means it’s easier to eat more! And that’s a winner in my books…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Stay tuned for part two of the All American Candy Bar Challenge!

4 thoughts on “Candy Bar Countdown

  1. Oh my gosh, Reese’s Pieces are possibly my most favourite thing ever! I’m beyond excited that they exist in New Zealand now! Haha. As for the Payday bar, well, I’ve never heard of those before but Dan’s description of them actually sounds pretty good! If someone described a candy bar like that I would probably throw myself at it! Can’t wait to hear part two!

    • Thank you for reading 🙂 I’m glad the PayDay sounded appealing to you, but it really was the most awful thing I had ever tasted haha. But we can agree Reese’s are just amazing! I’ve just suffered eating my way through part 2 of the challenge, and will post it soon 🙂

  2. I love Reese’s, but I adore PayDay. That salty/sweet combo gets me every time! But I’m a salt lover and a true Southern girl from Georgia. Salty peanut goodness and luscious caramel are in my blood.

    • Haha I hope I didn’t upset too many PayDay fans like yourself! I love salty peanuts as well – but I am a massive chocolate fan, it’s hard for me to enjoy any sweets unless they’re coated in chocolate!

Leave a Reply

