SoHo shopping spree

My first full day in New York City was spent doing something I believe I was born to do… shop! And where else better than NYC for some retail therapy?

I channelled my inner-SJP as Britt and I successfully managed to orientate ourselves through the cities subways to our destination; SoHo. It was such a confidence boost to not get lost, have to stop and ask for help or have any travel issues that day!

The shopping in SoHo is a main street which seems to never end, and is lined with the best brands including Zara, Pandora, Victorias Secret, American Apparel, Guess, Converse, Armani Exchange and Topshop to name a few. I instantly fell inlove with the buildings and architecture, which as you can see in the below images are stunning!

This day was my most enjoyed moment spent with my best friend doing our favourite activity!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

After SoHo, and a quick recovery nap back at the hotel, Britt and I set off to explore the famous 5th Ave! The transition of old buildings to new, gleaming glamourous buildings let us know we had finally reached our destination. We first went to Niketown, which is a 5-storey Nike store and was incredible! We also visited Tiffany’s, Abercrombie & Fitch, and tried to find the famous toy store F.A.O. Schwarz with the giant floor piano, but were too lost in the retail mania to find it! All the buildings are so impressive, with all stores over four stories high with escalators inside, which are so overwhelming compared to my small Sunshine Coast Plaza back home!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

For all Australian’s who plan on using their savings (spendings) cards while overseas, I recommend a Commonwealth Travel Money card.  It’s on $15 to initially set it up, and if you’re a student travelling abroad it’s free! You can easily transfer you’re savings onto the card, and the helpful tellers at Commonwealth set it up so it converts into the currency depending on where you’re travelling to!

It certainly has made it easier for me to track where I’ve spent my money, without having to worry about currency conversions, and I highly recommend it to all future travelling Australian’s!

Leave a Reply

