The Ugg-ly truth

The most significant fashion trend I’ve noticed walking around campus has been adopted from my very own country Australia… the Ugg boot. This was one clothing item I was not expecting to see in Western New York, as I have never associated Ugg’s being compatible with snow.

Well, apparently I was wrong. Ugg boots outweigh any other footwear I’ve seen so far, and are regarded as a serious fashion statement. I guess it makes sense; they’re warm, comfortable, and modified with thicker soles and ‘grip’ for the icy footpaths. However they certainly don’t come cheap; students are paying up to $200 USD for this fashion item! I know my pair back home cost $10 AUD, and I think I’ve only worn them twice…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The stance on Ugg’s is very different on the Sunshine Coast, Australia. Although most girls do own a pair, they aren’t worn as a fashion statement or on campus at our Universities, but more for practical use. Because of the extreme weather differences, we don’t really have a need to wear them often, and they are usually only worn on cold winter mornings around the house.  Wearing Ugg boots in public in Australia typecasts the individual as a ‘bogan’, which is a now socially accepted slang term for an Australian stereotyped for their lower-class background. Speech, attitude, behaviour and clothing, such as Ugg boots, contribute to the social makeup of a bogan.  For example, if you’re caught in public wearing Ugg’s, denim cut-offs and a street-brand ‘hoodie’ you’re relinquishing your rights to society to be labelled as a bogan.

It’s refreshing to arrive on the other side of the world and have the iconic Australian footwear worn and viewed in such a different and high regard, compared to back home. I interviewed a student and now friend of mine, Joylyn Kovatchev, a 20-year-old Environmental Science major, asking her where her Ugg’s were from and what she loves most about them, “I got them at Marshall’s, which is a store exactly like TJ Maxx. I love that they’re fuzzy inside and keep my feet warm in the winter”. Her passion for Ugg’s made me nostalgic for my own pair at home!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

As for myself, my black suede ankle boots haven’t been the most practical choice of footwear for the snow. On my first shopping experience in Buffalo’s ‘Walden Galleria’ I purchased a feminine version of the worker ‘Timberland’ boots, featured below.  I haven’t seen these style boots being worn by any female students, so hopefully I can bring a new trend to the campus!

IMG_7355

Not all students have been swept up in the Ugg-craze. I’ve seen a beautiful range of lace up and ankle boots, leather and suede, and have captured them for you (along with some more Ugg’s!) to enjoy below.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

